Single release: ‘Black Crow’ by The Weeping Willows

Posted by

Earlier this year The Weeping Willows won a Golden Guitar for Instrumental of the Year, for ‘Prelude’, as well as being nominated for Bluegrass Song of the Year for ‘Wheels Won’t Roll’. At the end of March they released new single ‘Black Crow’, a song about a murderer whose conscience is pricked as he’s observed by a crow – who then observes his impending execution. Andrew Wrigglesworth takes lead vocals, with Laura Coates on haunting backing vocals in this song that is barely over two minutes long but which packs in themes of morality and responsibility, and which builds a sense of awareness on the part of the narrator thanks to the expert use of instruments and voices. As soon as it’s over you’ll turn around and listen to it again, just to feel the flap of that crow’s wings – metaphorically, perhaps, but also in the way the song takes flight.

The track is from The Weeping Willows’ forthcoming third album, which is highly anticipated given the calibre of their first two, and is accompanied by an animated video created by Julie Zammarchi.

The Weeping Willows are on tour:

Tue 13 April: The BUg – Brisbane Unplugged Folk/Acoustic Music NightNew Farm Bowls Club, Brisbane, QLD‡

Wed 14 April: Old Ambulance Station, Nambour, QLD*

Thu 15 April: Oodies Cafe, Bundaberg, QLD*

Fri 16 – Sun 18 April: The GAS – Old Fashioned Music Weekend, Brooweena, QLD*

Sat 24 – Sun 25 April: Mount Beauty Music Festival, Mount Beauty, VIC

Fri 30 – Sun 2 May: Wintermoon Festival, Cameron’s Pocket, QLD*

Fri 7 May: Smith’s Alternative, Canberra, ACT*

Sat 8 May: Navigate Arts – Old Tanja Church, Tanja, NSW*

Sat 15 May: The Archies Creek Hotel – Hall, Archies Creek, VIC†

Fri 21 May: Terang LiveTerang Commercial Hotel, Terang, VIC*

Sat 22 May: Stone PonyWirra Creek Music, Willunga, SA*

Sat 29 May: Storytellers at the Station – Casey Radio – 97.7FM, Cranbourne, VIC

Tickets: www.theweepingwillows.com.au/gigs

* With Great Aunt / † With Nick Charles Music / ‡ With Michael Fix & Mark Cryle