Video premiere: ‘Flying’ by Michael Waugh

Posted by

Certain things are guaranteed when you listen to a Michael Waugh song: you’ll cry or laugh, sometimes both and all at once; you’ll find the lyrics so rich and detailed that you’ll need to listen to the song a few times to appreciate everything in it; you’ll feel like Waugh is singing to you from his heart, because he is, and that enables him to make a connection to each listener; and if you haven’t yet heard his other music you’ll rush off to invest some time in it.

Waugh is a singer-songwriter from Victoria whose new song, ‘Flying’, fulfils all of those guarantees. It is a love song to Waugh’s brothers, a walk down their shared memory lane and an extended hand of friendship and compassion. The song was produced by Shane Nicholson, who has produced Waugh’s previous three albums – including his Golden Guitar nominated 2019 release The Weir – and follows Waugh’s hit single ‘Dirty River’, which peaked at number 15 on TMN airplay charts, and is taken from his forthcoming album, The Cast, set for release on 27 August on Compass Bros Records.

Says Waugh, ‘2020 was hard on my family – we lost Mum and Dad at the start of the year, and my middle brother has been pretty crook. There’s something about those lines from [the movie] ET that kept playing on my mind – “phone home” and “I’ll be right here”; I couldn’t have got through that year without those two men. “Flying” is a memory of a better time, and a reminder that there’s always room up here on the handlebars of my bike when they need a dink.’

The video for ‘Flying’ is having its premiere on this site today. It was shot by Melbourne cinematographer Sean Kirkwood and picks up the song’s references to ET, charmingly recreating them using the two sons of Waugh’s band member John Bedggood (one of whom also turns himself into a cute, hilarious Mr T).

This song is about my little brothers,’ says Waugh, ‘and it was such a treat to work with Bedge and his boys. Bedge’s wife, Ainsley, was also make-up artist – so it was a true family day. Those little boys are very young – 9 and 6 – they did an extraordinary job. We laughed and had heaps of fun. It goes to show that BMXs still hold some adventure in them … even though neither of the boys have ever seen ET.’

Also appearing in the video are the other members of Waugh’s band, Jacob McGuffie and Craig Kelly. They’ll join him on the road as he sets off on a 25-date tour, including performances at festivals:

Sunday 8th August – Princess Theatre – Launceston w/ Eric Bogle
Friday 13th August – Sydney Folk Festival – Sydney – NSW
Friday 19th June – Lighthouse Theatre – Warrnambool VIC.  w/ Eric Bogle
Saturday 20th June – Capital Theatre – Bendigo – VIC w/ Eric Bogle
Friday 25th June – Her Majesty’s Theatre – Ballarat – VIC. w/ Eric Bogle
Saturday 26th June – Tomerong Hall – Tomerong – NSW 
Saturday 26th June – Joyce Wheatley Hall – Kiama – NSW
Sunday 27th June – School of Arts Hall – Carlton – NSW
Friday 6th August – Theatre Royal – Hobart – TAS w/ Eric Bogle
Saturday 7th August – Theatre Royal – Hobart – TAS w/ Eric Bogle
Saturday 14th August, Sydney Folk Festival – Sydney – NSW
Saturday 28th August – Gympie Muster – Gympie – QLD
Sunday 29th August – Gympie Muster – Gympie – QLD
Thursday 2nd September – Album Launch @ Memo Music Hall – St Kilda – VIC  
Friday 3rd September – Music on The Hill – Red Hill – VIC
Saturday 11th September – Live At The Bundy – Bundalaguah – VIC w/ Shane Nicholson SOLD OUT
Saturday 18th September – South Sydney Juniors Club – Randwick – NSW w/ Glenn Shorrock
Thursday 23rd September – Oodis Cafe – Bundaberg – QLD
Friday 24th September – Junk Bar – Brisbane – QLD
Saturday 25th September – Wauchope Arts Factory – Wauchope – NSW
Thursday 30th September – Django Bar – Marrickville – NSW
Friday 1st October – Heritage Hotel – Bulli – NSW
Saturday 2nd October – The Brass Monkey – Cronulla – NSW
Saturday 9th October – The Barn at Wombat Flat – Neales Flat – SA
Sunday 10th October – Trinity Sessions – Adelaide – SA

Click here for ticket links: https://www.michaelwaugh.com.au/tour